Skip to content

Things that make me tick

April 17, 2008

We have all heard the term or question, “What makes you tick?” I know at times I can be a mystery to a lot of people. If you think you know me by the computer I use, church I go to, house I live or business I run you may know a little bit about me but I’m unsure if any of those give a full picture of my personality, what I value and what interests me. I think about this “ticking” thing a lot because I do wonder how I come across but maybe this list will help out and also inspire me to write some future posts as well;

* I’m an “information hound” – I love keeping up with current events by reading the news, I listen to talk radio (both conservative talk and NPR – take that demographic people), podcasts and reading blogs
* I love to be organized even though I don’t always put it in practice
* I love photography and strive to perfect it as an art
* I go to a traditional, reformed, Presbyterian church but deep down I am more contemporary
* I prefer the music I listen to have soul, no matter the genre. I don’t care much of anything from the 90’s, 80’s were fun, like 70’s rock, 60’s Motown, big band, Classical, Bluegrass
* I like to know where I am in the process, I hate working on a project with blinders on.
* I love animals, especially dogs – for example see my photos of my last pet Darby who died last year and our current dog, Abby.
* I hate the “party system” of government. Ideally I’m more libertarian, generally vote conservative and get extremely frustrated when my views on government and the rest of my life conflict.
* I love Apple computers but my “standards” are more Internet based. I think all file formats, etc. should be open to the greatest audience possible.
* I prefer long walks in the mountains as opposed to long walks on the beach because I like the diversity in views and elevation but I do like a beach walk at sunrise or sunset.
* A lot of my favorite shows or movies are in the sci-fi genre but it’s not the whiz bang effects that attract me. It’s always how well a story is told in a clever way.
* I am sentimental to the extreme, be it my first computer experiences, when I first got our dog, or memories of family and friends.
* I find the oddest things funny. If you want me to laugh do a clever twist on language and say something unexpected. Good examples include Steven Wright and Jack Handy.
* I love spicy food. Salsa, Tabasco Sauce, Hot Chinese Food and I go crazy with a pepper grinder on my food
* I love coffee but it has to be freshly ground from the beans, both black and green tea
* Favorite food include Salmon, broccoli, Krispy Kreme Donuts, Lemon Pepper Chicken, good bar-b-que, pizza, water with lemon and ice cream.
* Technology in general – I love gadgets, computers and reading about the latest programming languages, etc.
* I’m oddly ambidextrous. I can only write with my left hand and can only throw or carry a lot of stuff with my right hand.
* I hate thinking about house work and yard work I need to do but strangely I have a hard time stopping once I start!
* I’m really reserved when you first meet me. You might even think I’m being stand offish but really once you do get to know me we can develop a deep friendship.

So, did anything I said surprise you? If you know me is it pretty much what you expect? Do some things I mentioned not fit into a box you like?

No comments yet

Leave a comment